Don't miss the special BONUS offer during our Beta-test period. The next 100 new Registered Users (from a unique IP address), to post at least five (5) piglix, will receive 1,000 extra sign-up points (eventually exchangeable for crypto-currency)!

* * * * *    Free Launch Promotions    * * * * *

  • Free Ads! if you are a small business with annual revenues of less than $1M - will place your ads free of charge for up to one year! ... read more

  • $2,000 in free prizes! is giving away ten (10) Meccano Erector sets, retail at $200 each, that build a motorized Ferris Wheel (or one of 22 other models) ... see details

European Union

Circle of 12 gold stars on a blue background
Anthem: "Ode to Joy" (orchestral)
Location of  European Union Bulgarian: Европейски съюзCroatian: Europska unijaCzech: Evropská unieDanish: Den Europæiske UnionDutch: Europese UnieEnglish: European UnionEstonian: Euroopa LiitFinnish: Euroopan unioniFrench: Union européenneGerman: Europäische UnionGreek: Ευρωπαϊκή ΈνωσηHungarian: Európai UnióIrish: An tAontas EorpachItalian: Unione europeaLatvian: Eiropas SavienībaLithuanian: Europos SąjungaMaltese: Unjoni EwropeaPolish: Unia EuropejskaPortuguese: União EuropeiaRomanian: Uniunea EuropeanăSlovak: Európska úniaSlovene: Evropska unijaSpanish: Unión EuropeaSwedish: Europeiska unionen
Capital Brussels (de facto)
50°51′N 4°21′E / 50.850°N 4.350°E / 50.850; 4.350
Largest cities London and Paris
Official languages
Demonym European
Type Political and economic union
Member states
Jean-Claude Juncker
Donald Tusk
Antonio Tajani
Legislature Council of the EU
European Parliament
1 January 1958
1 November 1993
• Total
4,324,782 km2 (1,669,808 sq mi)
• Water (%)
• 2016 estimate
• Density
116.4/km2 (301.5/sq mi)
GDP (PPP) 2017 estimate
• Total
$20.75 trillion (2nd)
• Per capita
GDP (nominal) 2017 estimate
• Total
$16.97 trillion (2nd)
• Per capita
Gini (2014) 30.9
HDI (2014) Increase 0.865
very high
Time zone WET (UTC)
• Summer (DST)
Date format DD/MM/YYYY
Calling code +3 and +4
Internet TLD .eu
  1. ^ London and Paris are the largest cities in the European Union by urban population.
  2. ^ Not including outermost regions.
Bulgarian: Европейски съюз
Croatian: Europska unija
Czech: Evropská unie
Danish: Den Europæiske Union
Dutch: Europese Unie
English: European Union
Estonian: Euroopa Liit
Finnish: Euroopan unioni
French: Union européenne
German: Europäische Union
Greek: Ευρωπαϊκή Ένωση
Hungarian: Európai Unió
Irish: An tAontas Eorpach
Italian: Unione europea
Latvian: Eiropas Savienība
Lithuanian: Europos Sąjunga
Maltese: Unjoni Ewropea
Polish: Unia Europejska
Portuguese: União Europeia
Romanian: Uniunea Europeană
Slovak: Európska únia
Slovene: Evropska unija
Spanish: Unión Europea
Swedish: Europeiska unionen

The European Union (EU) is a political and economic union of 28 member states that are located primarily in Europe. It has an area of 4,324,782 km2 (1,669,808 sq mi), and an estimated population of over 510 million. The EU has developed an internal single market through a standardised system of laws that apply in all member states. EU policies aim to ensure the free movement of people, goods, services, and capital within the internal market, enact legislation in justice and home affairs, and maintain common policies on trade,agriculture,fisheries, and regional development. Within the Schengen Area, passport controls have been abolished.A monetary union was established in 1999 and came into full force in 2002, and is composed of 19 EU member states which use the euro currency.

The EU operates through a hybrid system of supranational and intergovernmental decision-making. The seven principal decision-making bodies—known as the institutions of the European Union—are the European Council, the Council of the European Union, the European Parliament, the European Commission, the Court of Justice of the European Union, the European Central Bank, and the European Court of Auditors.



Don't forget! that as one of our early users, you are eligible to receive the 1,000 point bonus as soon as you have created five (5) acceptable piglix.