*** Notice at top for first time visitors ***

* * * * *    piglix project (code-name) Launch Promotions    * * * * *

  • Learn more! ! if you are a bone fide Higher Education establishment and would like to learn how the piglix project may be your answer to the challenges of 'lecture room' replacement strategies, use our feedback page now to tell us about your needs and have someone contact you to explain your options and possibilities.

Georgia (country)

Flag of Georgia
Coat of arms of Georgia
Flag Coat of arms
ძალა ერთობაშია
Dzala Ertobashia
Strength is in Unity
Georgia proper shown in dark green; areas outside of Georgian control shown in pattern.
Georgia proper shown in dark green; areas outside of Georgian control shown in pattern.
Capital Tbilisi
Kutaisi (legislative)
41°43′N 44°47′E / 41.717°N 44.783°E / 41.717; 44.783
Largest city Tbilisi
Official languages Georgian
Ethnic groups (2014) Georgians – 86.8%
Azerbaijanis – 6.2%
Armenians – 4.5%
Others – 2.8%
Demonym Georgian
Government Unitary semi-presidential republic
• President
Giorgi Margvelashvili
Irakli Kobakhidze
Giorgi Kvirikashvili
Legislature Parliament
26 May 1918
25 February 1921
• from the Soviet Union

9 April 1991
25 December 1991
24 August 1995
• Total
69,700 km2 (26,900 sq mi) (120th)
• 2016 estimate
3,720,400 (131st)
• 2014 census
• Density
53.5/km2 (138.6/sq mi) (137th)
GDP (PPP) 2015 estimate
• Total
$35.6 billion (117th)
• Per capita
GDP (nominal) 2015 estimate
• Total
$14.372 billion
• Per capita
Gini (2014) Negative increase 40.9
HDI (2015) Increase 0.754
high · 76th
Currency Georgian lari (₾) (GEL)
Time zone GET (UTC+4)
Drives on the right
Calling code +995
ISO 3166 code GE
Internet TLD .ge .გე
  1. ^ Moved in 2013 from a president-parliamentary system to a premier-presidential system.
  2. ^ Excluding occupied territories.

Coordinates: 42°00′N 43°30′E / 42.000°N 43.500°E / 42.000; 43.500

Georgia (Listeni/ˈɔːrə/; Georgian: საქართველო, tr. Sakartvelo, IPA: [sɑkʰɑrtʰvɛlɔ]) is a country in the Caucasus region of Eurasia. Located at the crossroads of Western Asia and Eastern Europe, it is bounded to the west by the Black Sea, to the north by Russia, to the south by Turkey and Armenia, and to the southeast by Azerbaijan. The capital and largest city is Tbilisi. Georgia covers a territory of 69,700 square kilometres (26,911 sq mi), and its 2015 population is about 3.75 million. Georgia is a unitary, semi-presidential republic, with the government elected through a representative democracy.


Social Distancing Order In Force!

Don't forget! that your welfare and that of all your friends and colleagues here is of primary concern and a distance of six feet (1.8m) minimum is required at all times.