*** Notice at top for first time visitors ***

* * * * *    piglix project (code-name) Launch Promotions    * * * * *

  • Learn more! ! if you are a bone fide Higher Education establishment and would like to learn how the piglix project may be your answer to the challenges of 'lecture room' replacement strategies, use our feedback page now to tell us about your needs and have someone contact you to explain your options and possibilities.


Republic of Armenia
Հայաստանի Հանրապետություն
Hayastani Hanrapetut’yun
Flag of Armenia
Coat of arms of Armenia
Flag Coat of arms
Մեր Հայրենիք
Mer Hayrenik
"Our Fatherland"
Location of Armenia
and largest city
40°11′N 44°31′E / 40.183°N 44.517°E / 40.183; 44.517
Official languages Armenian
Recognised national languages Assyrian, Greek, Kurdish and Russian
Spoken and written language Eastern Armenian
Official script Armenian alphabeta
Ethnic groups ()
Demonym Armenian
Government Unitary semi-presidential republic
• President
Serzh Sargsyan
Karen Karapetyan
Legislature National Assembly
Formation and independence
• Traditional date
2492 BCE
1500–1290 BCE
14th century–1190 BCE
• Urartu
860–590 BCE
6th century BCE
190 BCE

28 May 1918
• Independence from Soviet Union
23 August 1990b
21 September 1991c
26 December 1991d
• Total
29,743 km2 (11,484 sq mi) (141st)
• Water (%)
• 2016 estimate
3.0 million
• 2011 census
Decrease 3,018,854 (134th)
• Density
101.5/km2 (262.9/sq mi) (99th)
GDP (PPP) 2016 estimate
• Total
$26.560 billion
• Per capita
GDP (nominal) 2016 estimate
• Total
$10.754 billion
• Per capita
Gini (2013) 31.5
HDI (2014) Increase 0.733
high · 85th
Currency Dram (֏) (AMD)
Time zone AMT (UTC+4)
Drives on the right
Calling code +374
Patron saint St. Gregory
ISO 3166 code AM
Internet TLD .am .հայ
  1. Reformed orthography.
  2. Declared sovereignty.
  3. Declared independence via an Referendum
  4. Independence was officially widely recognized after the dissolution of the Soviet Union. The current constitution was adopted on 5 July 1995.

Coordinates: 40°N 45°E / 40°N 45°E / 40; 45

Armenia (Listeni/ɑːrˈmniə/, /-ˈmnjə/;Armenian: Հայաստան, tr. Hayastan, IPA: [hɑjɑsˈtɑn]), officially the Republic of Armenia (Armenian: Հայաստանի Հանրապետություն, tr. Hayastani Hanrapetut’yun), is a sovereign state in the South Caucasus region of Eurasia. A European country located in Western Asia on the "Armenian Highlands", it is bordered by Turkey to the west, Russia and Georgia to the north and Azerbaijan to the east, and Iran and Azerbaijan's exclave of Nakhchivan to the south.


Social Distancing Order In Force!

Don't forget! that your welfare and that of all your friends and colleagues here is of primary concern and a distance of six feet (1.8m) minimum is required at all times.