*** Welcome to piglix ***

Hong Kong

Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China
A flag with a white 5-petalled flower design on solid red background
A red circular emblem, with a white 5-petalled flower design in the centre, and surrounded by the words "Hong Kong" and "中華人民共和國香港特別行政區"
Flag Emblem
City flower
Bauhinia blakeana (洋紫荊)
Location of Hong Kong within China
Location of Hong Kong
Status Special administrative region
Official languages
Official scripts
Ethnic groups
Sovereign state People's Republic of China
Government Multi-party system
Leung Chun-ying
Geoffrey Ma
Matthew Cheung
Paul Chan Mo-po
Rimsky Yuen
Andrew Leung
Legislature Legislative Council
26 January 1841
29 August 1842
18 October 1860
1 July 1898
25 December 1941
to 15 August 1945

1 July 1997
• Total
2,755 km2 (1,064 sq mi) (167th)
• Water (%)
59.8 (1,649 km2; 637 sq mi)
• 2014 estimate
7,234,800 (100th)
• Density
6,544/km2 (16,948.9/sq mi)
GDP (PPP) 2015 estimate
• Total
$412.300 billion (44th)
• Per capita
$56,428 (10th)
GDP (nominal) 2015 estimate
• Total
$310.074 billion (36th)
• Per capita
$42,437 (18th)
Gini (2011) 53.7
HDI (2014) Increase 0.910
very high · 12th
Currency Hong Kong dollar (HK$) (HKD)
Time zone (UTC+8)
• Summer (DST)
not observed (UTC+8)
Date format dd-mm-yyyy
Drives on the left
Calling code +852
ISO 3166 code HK
Internet TLD .hk   .香港
  1. ^ Cantonese is the de facto standard of Chinese used.
Hong Kong
TE-Collage Hong Kong.png
Cantonese Yale Hēunggóng or Hèunggóng
Literal meaning Fragrant Harbour
Hong Kong Special Administrative Region
Traditional Chinese
Simplified Chinese
Cantonese Yale Hēunggóng Dahkbiht Hàhngjingkēui
(Hēunggóng Dahkkēui)
Hèunggóng Dahkbiht Hàhngjingkèui
(Hèunggóng Dahkkèui)

Hong Kong (Chinese: ; literally: "Fragrant Harbour" or "Incense Harbour"), officially the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China, is an autonomous territory on the Pearl River Delta of East Asia.Macau lies across the delta to the west, and the Chinese province of Guangdong borders the territory to the north. With a total land area of 1,106 square kilometres (427 sq mi) and a population of over 7.3 million of various nationalities, it ranks as the world's fourth most densely populated sovereign state or territory.

After the First Opium War (1839–42), Hong Kong became a British colony with the perpetual cession of Hong Kong Island, followed by the Kowloon Peninsula in 1860 and a 99-year lease of the New Territories from 1898. Hong Kong was later occupied by Japan during World War II until British control resumed in 1945. In the early 1980s, negotiations between the United Kingdom and China resulted in the 1984 Sino-British Joint Declaration, which paved way for the transfer of sovereignty of Hong Kong in 1997, when it became a special administrative region (SAR) with a high degree of autonomy.

Under the principle of "one country, two systems", Hong Kong maintains a separate political and economic system from China. Except in military defence and foreign affairs, Hong Kong maintains its independent executive, legislative and judiciary powers. In addition, Hong Kong develops relations directly with foreign states and international organisations in a broad range of "appropriate fields".