Don't miss the special BONUS offer during our Beta-test period. The next 100 new Registered Users (from a unique IP address), to post at least five (5) piglix, will receive 1,000 extra sign-up points (eventually exchangeable for crypto-currency)!

* * * * *    Free Launch Promotions    * * * * *

  • Free Ads! if you are a small business with annual revenues of less than $1M - will place your ads free of charge for up to one year! ... read more

  • $2,000 in free prizes! is giving away ten (10) Meccano Erector sets, retail at $200 each, that build a motorized Ferris Wheel (or one of 22 other models) ... see details


Province of South Africa
Flag of Mpumalanga
Coat of arms of Mpumalanga
Coat of arms
Motto: Omnia labor vincit (Labour will conquer all)
Map showing the location of Mpumalanga in the eastern part of South Africa
Location of Mpumalanga in South Africa
Country South Africa
Established 27 April 1994
Capital Nelspruit (Mbombela)
 • Type Parliamentary system
 • Premier David Mabuza (ANC)
 • Total 76,495 km2 (29,535 sq mi)
Area rank 8th in South Africa
Highest elevation 2,331 m (7,648 ft)
Population (2011)
 • Total 4,039,939
 • Estimate (2015) 4,283,900
 • Rank 6th in South Africa
 • Density 53/km2 (140/sq mi)
 • Density rank 3rd in South Africa
Population groups
 • Black African 90.7%
 • White 7.5%
 • Coloured 0.9%
 • Indian or Asian 0.7%
 • Swati 27.7%
 • Zulu 24.1%
 • Tsonga 10.4%
 • Ndebele 10.1%
 • Northern Sotho 9.3%
Time zone SAST (UTC+2)
ISO 3166 code ZA-MP

Mpumalanga Listeni/əmˌpməˈlɑːŋɡə/ (name changed from Eastern Transvaal on 24 August 1995), is a province of South Africa. The name means "east", or literally "the place where the sun rises" in the Swazi, Xhosa, Ndebele and Zulu languages. Mpumalanga lies in eastern South Africa, bordering Swaziland and Mozambique. It constitutes 6.5% of South Africa's land area. It shares borders with the South African provinces of Limpopo to the north, Gauteng to the west, the Free State to the southwest, and KwaZulu-Natal to the south. The capital is Nelspruit. Before 1994, Mpumalanga was part of Transvaal Province.

The Drakensberg Escarpment divides Mpumalanga into a westerly half consisting mainly of high-altitude grassland called the Highveld and an eastern half situated in low-altitude subtropical Lowveld/Bushveld, mostly savanna habitat. The southern half of the Kruger National Park is in the latter region. The Drakensberg exceeds heights of 2000 m in most places, with this central region of Mpumalanga being very mountainous. These regions have alpine grasslands and small pockets of Afromontane forest. The Lowveld is relatively flat with interspersed rocky outcrops. The Lebombo Mountains form a low range in the far east, on the border with Mozambique.



Don't forget! that as one of our early users, you are eligible to receive the 1,000 point bonus as soon as you have created five (5) acceptable piglix.