Don't miss the special BONUS offer during our Beta-test period. The next 100 new Registered Users (from a unique IP address), to post at least five (5) piglix, will receive 1,000 extra sign-up points (eventually exchangeable for crypto-currency)!

* * * * *    Free Launch Promotions    * * * * *

  • Free Ads! if you are a small business with annual revenues of less than $1M - will place your ads free of charge for up to one year! ... read more

  • $2,000 in free prizes! is giving away ten (10) Meccano Erector sets, retail at $200 each, that build a motorized Ferris Wheel (or one of 22 other models) ... see details


KwaZulu-Natali (Zulu)
Province of South Africa
Coat of arms of KwaZulu-Natal
Coat of arms
  • Masisukume sakhe
  • ("Let us rise and build")
Map showing the location of KwaZulu-Natal in the south-eastern part of South Africa
Location of KwaZulu-Natal in South Africa
Country South Africa
Natalia Republic 12 October 1839
Colony of Natal 4 May 1843
Natal Province 31 May 1910
KwaZulu-Natal 27 April 1994
Capital Pietermaritzburg
Largest city Durban
 • Type Parliamentary system
 • Premier Willies Mchunu (ANC)
 • Total 94,361 km2 (36,433 sq mi)
Area rank 7th in South Africa
Highest elevation 3,451 m (11,322 ft)
Lowest elevation 0 m (0 ft)
Population (2011)
 • Total 10,267,300
 • Estimate (2015) 10,919,100
 • Rank 2nd in South Africa
 • Density 110/km2 (280/sq mi)
 • Density rank 2nd in South Africa
Population groups
 • Black African 86.8%
 • Indian or Asian 7.4%
 • White 4.2%
 • Coloured 1.4%
 • Zulu 77.8%
 • English 13.2%
 • Xhosa 3.4%
 • Afrikaans 1.6%
Time zone SAST (UTC+2)
ISO 3166 code ZA-NL

KwaZulu-Natal (/kwɑːˌzl nəˈtɑːl/; also referred to as KZN and known as "the garden province") is a province of South Africa that was created in 1994 when the Zulu bantustan of KwaZulu ("Place of the Zulu" in Zulu) and Natal Province were merged. It is located in the southeast of the country, enjoying a long shoreline beside the Indian Ocean and sharing borders with three other provinces and the countries of Mozambique, Swaziland and Lesotho. Its capital is Pietermaritzburg and its largest city is Durban. It is the 2nd most populous province in South Africa, with slightly fewer residents than Gauteng.

During the 1830s and early 1840s, the northern part of what is now KwaZulu-Natal was occupied by the Zulu Kingdom while the southern part was, briefly, the Boer republic of Natalia before becoming, in 1843, the British Colony of Natal. KwaZulu remained independent until 1879.



Don't forget! that as one of our early users, you are eligible to receive the 1,000 point bonus as soon as you have created five (5) acceptable piglix.