*** Welcome to piglix ***

Latin America

Latin America
Latin America (orthographic projection).svg
Area 19,197,000 km2 (7,412,000 sq mi)
Population 626,741,000 (2015 est.)
Pop. density 31/km2 (80/sq mi)
Demonym Latin American
Countries 20
Dependencies 13

Spanish and Portuguese

Quechua, Mayan languages, Guaraní, French, Aymara, Nahuatl, Italian, English, Dutch, Welsh
Time zones UTC-2 to UTC-8
Largest cities (Metro areas)
1. Mexico Mexico City
2. Brazil São Paulo
3. Argentina Buenos Aires
4. Brazil Rio de Janeiro
5. Peru Lima
6. Colombia Bogotá
7. Chile Santiago
8. Brazil Belo Horizonte
9. Mexico Guadalajara
10. Mexico Monterrey

Spanish and Portuguese

Latin America is a group of countries and dependencies in the Americas where Romance languages are predominant. The term originated in 19th century France as Amérique latine to consider French-speaking territories in the Americas (Haiti, French Guiana, Martinique, Guadeloupe, Saint Martin, Saint Barthélemy) along with the larger group of countries where Spanish and Portuguese languages prevailed. It is therefore broader than the terms Ibero-America or Hispanic America—though it usually excludes French Canada and modern French Louisiana.

Latin America consists of nineteen sovereign states and several territories and dependencies which cover an area that stretches from the northern border of Mexico to the southern tip of South America, including the Caribbean. It has an area of approximately 19,197,000 km2 (7,412,000 sq mi), almost 13% of the Earth's land surface area. As of 2015, its population was estimated at more than 626 million and in 2014, Latin America had a combined nominal GDP of 5,573,397 million USD and a GDP PPP of 7,531,585 million USD. The term "Latin America" was first used in 1861 in La revue des races Latines, a magazine "dedicated to the cause of Pan-Latinism".