*** Notice at top for first time visitors ***

* * * * *    piglix project (code-name) Launch Promotions    * * * * *

  • Learn more! ! if you are a bone fide Higher Education establishment and would like to learn how the piglix project may be your answer to the challenges of 'lecture room' replacement strategies, use our feedback page now to tell us about your needs and have someone contact you to explain your options and possibilities.


Argentine Republic
República Argentina  (Spanish)
Flag of Argentina
Coat of arms of Argentina
Flag Coat of arms
Sol de Mayo
(Sun of May)

Sol de Mayo
Mainland Argentina shown in dark green, with territorial claims shown in light green
Mainland Argentina shown in dark green, with territorial claims shown in light green
and largest city
Buenos Aires
34°36′S 58°23′W / 34.600°S 58.383°W / -34.600; -58.383
National language
and de facto official
Regional languages

Guaraní in Corrientes;

Qom, Mocoví and Wichi in Chaco
  • Argentine
  • Argentinian
  • Argentinean (uncommon)
Government Federal presidential constitutional republic
• President
Mauricio Macri
Gabriela Michetti
Legislature Congress
Chamber of Deputies
Independence from Spain
25 May 1810
• Declared
9 July 1816
1 May 1853
• Total
2,780,400 km2 (1,073,500 sq mi) (8th)
• Water (%)
• 2015 estimate
• 2010 census
40,117,096 (32nd)
• Density
14.4/km2 (37.3/sq mi) (212th)
GDP (PPP) 2016 estimate
• Total
$879.447 billion (25th)
• Per capita
$20,170 (56th)
GDP (nominal) 2016 estimate
• Total
$541.748 billion (21st)
• Per capita
$12,425 (53rd)
Gini (2014) Negative increase 42.7
HDI (2014) Increase 0.836
very high · 40th
Currency Peso ($) (ARS)
Time zone ART (UTC−3)
Date format dd.mm.yyyy (CE)
Drives on the right
Calling code +54
ISO 3166 code AR
Internet TLD .ar
  1. ^ Though not declared official de jure, the Spanish language is the only one used in the wording of laws, decrees, resolutions, official documents and public acts.
  2. ^ Trains driven on left.

Coordinates: 34°S 64°W / 34°S 64°W / -34; -64

Guaraní in Corrientes;

Argentina (Listeni/ˌɑːrənˈtnə/; Spanish: [aɾxenˈtina]), officially the Argentine Republic (Spanish: República Argentina), is a federal republic in the southern half of South America. Sharing the bulk of the Southern Cone with its neighbor Chile to the west, the country is also bordered by Bolivia and Paraguay to the north, Brazil to the northeast, Uruguay and the South Atlantic Ocean to the east, and the Drake Passage to the south. With a mainland area of 2,780,400 km2 (1,073,500 sq mi), Argentina is the eighth-largest country in the world, the second largest in Latin America, and the largest Spanish-speaking one. The country is subdivided into twenty-three provinces (Spanish: provincias, singular provincia) and one autonomous city (ciudad autónoma), Buenos Aires, which is the federal capital of the nation (Spanish: Capital Federal) as decided by Congress. The provinces and the capital have their own constitutions, but exist under a federal system.


Social Distancing Order In Force!

Don't forget! that your welfare and that of all your friends and colleagues here is of primary concern and a distance of six feet (1.8m) minimum is required at all times.