*** Welcome to piglix ***


Republic of Djibouti
  • République de Djibouti  (French)
  • جمهورية جيبوتي  (Arabic)
  • Gabuutih Ummuuno  (Afar)
  • Jamhuuriyadda Jabuuti  (Somali)
Flag of Djibouti
Emblem of Djibouti
Flag Emblem
Motto: "اتحاد، مساواة، سلام" (Arabic)
"Unité, Égalité, Paix" (French)
"Unity, Equality, Peace"
Anthem: Djibouti
Location of Djibouti
and largest city
Djibouti City
11°36′N 43°10′E / 11.600°N 43.167°E / 11.600; 43.167
Official languages
Recognised national languages
Religion Islam
Demonym Djiboutian
Government Dominant-party semi-presidential republic
• President
Ismaïl Omar Guelleh
Abdoulkader Kamil Mohamed
Legislature National Assembly
• from France
27 June 1977
• Total
23,200 km2 (9,000 sq mi) (150th)
• Water (%)
0.09 (20 km² / 7.7 sq mi)
• 2016 estimate
• Density
37.2/km2 (96.3/sq mi) (168th)
GDP (PPP) 2016 estimate
• Total
$3.327 billion
• Per capita
GDP (nominal) 2016 estimate
• Total
$1.903 billion
• Per capita
Gini (2009) 40.0
HDI (2014) Increase 0.470
low · 168th
Currency Djiboutian franc (DJF)
Time zone EAT (UTC+3)
Drives on the right
Calling code +253
ISO 3166 code DJ
Internet TLD .dj

Coordinates: 11°30′N 43°00′E / 11.500°N 43.000°E / 11.500; 43.000

Djibouti (/ɪˈbti/ ji-BOO-tee; Arabic: جيبوتي‎‎ Jībūtī, French: Djibouti, Somali: Jabuuti, Afar: Gabuuti), officially the Republic of Djibouti, is a country located in the Horn of Africa. It is bordered by Eritrea in the north, Ethiopia in the west and south, and Somalia in the southeast. The remainder of the border is formed by the Red Sea and the Gulf of Aden at the east. Djibouti occupies a total area of just 23,200 km2 (8,958 sq mi).