Don't miss the special BONUS offer during our Beta-test period. The next 100 new Registered Users (from a unique IP address), to post at least five (5) piglix, will receive 1,000 extra sign-up points (eventually exchangeable for crypto-currency)!

* * * * *    Free Launch Promotions    * * * * *

  • Free Ads! if you are a small business with annual revenues of less than $1M - will place your ads free of charge for up to one year! ... read more

  • $2,000 in free prizes! is giving away ten (10) Meccano Erector sets, retail at $200 each, that build a motorized Ferris Wheel (or one of 22 other models) ... see details

City of Tshwane Metropolitan Municipality

City of Tshwane
Metropolitan municipality
Official seal of City of Tshwane
Location in Gauteng
Location in Gauteng
Coordinates: 25°40′S 28°20′E / 25.667°S 28.333°E / -25.667; 28.333Coordinates: 25°40′S 28°20′E / 25.667°S 28.333°E / -25.667; 28.333
Country South Africa
Province Gauteng
Seat Pretoria
Wards 107
 • Type Municipal council
 • Mayor Solly Msimanga (DA)
 • Total 6,298 km2 (2,432 sq mi)
Population (2011)
 • Total 2,921,488
 • Density 460/km2 (1,200/sq mi)
Racial makeup (2011)
 • Black African 75.4%
 • Coloured 2.0%
 • Indian/Asian 1.8%
 • White 20.1%
First languages (2011)
 • Northern Sotho 19.9%
 • Afrikaans 18.8%
 • Tswana 15.0%
 • Tsonga 8.6%
 • Other 37.7%
Time zone SAST (UTC+2)
Municipal code TSH

The City of Tshwane Metropolitan Municipality Listeni/ˈtswɑːnɛ/ (also known as the City of Tshwane) is the metropolitan municipality that forms the local government of northern Gauteng Province, South Africa. The Metropolitan area is centred on the city of Pretoria with surrounding towns and localities included into the local government area.

The City of Tshwane Metropolitan Municipality was established on 5 December 2000, comprising 13 former city and town councils and managed under an executive mayoral system.

The Metsweding District Municipality was incorporated into the City of Tshwane Metropolitan Municipality, with effect from 18 May 2011 (the date of the 2011 municipal elections).

The City of Tshwane Metropolitan Municipality's land area increased from 2,198 square kilometres (849 sq mi) in 2010 to 6,368 square kilometres (2,459 sq mi) after the incorporation of Metsweding.

The Tswaing crater is in the northwest of Soshanguve.

The City of Tshwane Metropolitan Municipality consists of the following areas:



Don't forget! that as one of our early users, you are eligible to receive the 1,000 point bonus as soon as you have created five (5) acceptable piglix.