*** Notice at top for first time visitors ***

* * * * *    piglix project (code-name) Launch Promotions    * * * * *

  • Learn more! ! if you are a bone fide Higher Education establishment and would like to learn how the piglix project may be your answer to the challenges of 'lecture room' replacement strategies, use our feedback page now to tell us about your needs and have someone contact you to explain your options and possibilities.


Flag of Tokelau
Badge of Tokelau
Flag Badge
Motto: "Tokelau mo te Atua" (Tokelauan)
"Tokelau for the Almighty"
Location of Tokelau
Status Country and dependent territory of New Zealand
Capital Undetermined
Largest city Fakaofo
Official languages
Demonym Tokelauan
Government Constitutional monarchy
• Monarch
Elizabeth II
Linda Te Puni
Afega Gaualofa
New Zealand territory
• Total
10 km2 (3.9 sq mi) (233rd)
• Water (%)
• October 2016 census
1,499 (237th)
• Density
115/km2 (297.8/sq mi) (86th)
GDP (PPP) 1993 estimate
• Total
$1.5 million (227th)
• Per capita
$1,035 (not ranked)
Currency New Zealand dollar (NZD)
Time zone (UTC+13)
Drives on the left
Calling code +690
ISO 3166 code TK
Internet TLD .tk
  1. ^ Each atoll has its own administrative centre.
  2. ^ Final population counts: 2016 Tokelau Census, Statistics New Zealand. The Census population figure of 1,499 includes 214 usual residents of Tokelau who were absent on census night.
Some data from the World Factbook (2004).

Tokelau (/ˈtkəl/) (literally "north wind") is an island country in the southern Pacific Ocean that consists of three tropical coral atolls (from the northwest, Atafu, Nukunonu and Fakaofo, as well as Swains Island which is governed as part of American Samoa) with a combined land area of 10 km2 (4 sq mi) and a population of approximately 1,400. Its capital rotates yearly between the three atolls. Tokelau lies north of the Samoan Islands, Swains Island being the nearest, east of Tuvalu, south of the Phoenix Islands, southwest of the more distant Line Islands, and northwest of the Cook Islands. Until 1976, the official name was Tokelau Islands.

Tokelau is a leader in renewable energy, being the first 100% solar powered nation in the world. Tokelau is a free and democratic nation with elections every three years. All run as independents; there are no political parties in Tokelau.

The most spoken language in Tokelau is Tokelauan, at 93.5%. A dependent territory of New Zealand, it is sometimes referred to by its older colonial name, the Union Islands. In 2007, the United Nations General Assembly designated Tokelau a non-self-governing territory. However, Tokelau is officially referred to as a nation by both the New Zealand government and the Tokelauan government.


Social Distancing Order In Force!

Don't forget! that your welfare and that of all your friends and colleagues here is of primary concern and a distance of six feet (1.8m) minimum is required at all times.