Don't miss the special BONUS offer during our Beta-test period. The next 100 new Registered Users (from a unique IP address), to post at least five (5) piglix, will receive 1,000 extra sign-up points (eventually exchangeable for crypto-currency)!

* * * * *    Free Launch Promotions    * * * * *

  • Free Ads! if you are a small business with annual revenues of less than $1M - will place your ads free of charge for up to one year! ... read more

  • $2,000 in free prizes! is giving away ten (10) Meccano Erector sets, retail at $200 each, that build a motorized Ferris Wheel (or one of 22 other models) ... see details

The Hague

The Hague
Den Haag
City and municipality
Cityscape of The Hague, viewed from Het Plein (The Square).jpg
International Court of Justice.jpg Noordeinde Palace.jpg
Exterieur OVERZICHT INGANG - 's-Gravenhage - 20285549 - RCE.jpg Overzicht voorgevel - 's-Gravenhage - 20358401 - RCE.jpg 2010-05-22-den-haag-by-RalfR-43.jpg
Steigenberger Kurhaus Hotel.JPG 2010-05-22-den-haag-by-RalfR-48.jpg
Binnenhof Panorama in Den Haag.jpg
From top down, left to right: The Square in the city centre;
Peace Palace, seat of the World Court; Noordeinde Palace;
the ; Huis ten Bosch royal palace; the Ridderzaal;
Kurhaus of Scheveningen; the Mauritshuis art museum;
Binnenhof, seat of the States General of the Netherlands
Flag of The Hague
Coat of arms of The Hague
Coat of arms
Nickname(s): Residentiestad (Residential City), Hofstad (Court city)
Motto: Vrede en Recht (Peace and Justice)
Highlighted position of The Hague in a municipal map of South Holland
Location in South Holland
Coordinates: 52°5′N 4°19′E / 52.083°N 4.317°E / 52.083; 4.317Coordinates: 52°5′N 4°19′E / 52.083°N 4.317°E / 52.083; 4.317
Country Netherlands
Province South Holland
 • Body Municipal council
 • Mayor Jozias van Aartsen (VVD)
 • Aldermen
 • Municipality 98.12 km2 (37.88 sq mi)
 • Land 81.88 km2 (31.61 sq mi)
 • Water 16.24 km2 (6.27 sq mi)
 • Randstad 3,043 km2 (1,175 sq mi)
Elevation 1 m (3 ft)
Population (Municipality, May 2014; Urban and Metro, May 2014; Randstad, 2011)
 • Municipality 510,909
 • Density 6,240/km2 (16,200/sq mi)
 • Urban 657,894
 • Metro 1,054,793
 • Metropolitan region 2,261,844
 • Randstad 6,979,500
Demonym(s) Hagenaar or Hagenees
Time zone CET (UTC+1)
 • Summer (DST) CEST (UTC+2)
Postcode 2490–2599
Area code 070, 015

The Hague (/ðə ˈhɡ/; Dutch: Den Haag pronounced [dɛnˈɦaːx] or 's-Gravenhage pronounced [ˈsxraːvə(n)ˌɦaːɣə]) is a city located in the western coast of the Netherlands, and the capital city of the province of South Holland.

With a population of 520,704 inhabitants (as of 1 April 2016) and more than one million inhabitants including the suburbs, it is the third largest city of the Netherlands, after Amsterdam and Rotterdam. The Rotterdam The Hague Metropolitan Area, with a population of approximately 2.7 million, is the 12th-largest in the European Union and the most populous in the country. Located in the west of the Netherlands, The Hague is in the centre of the Haaglanden conurbation and lies at the southwest corner of the larger Randstad conurbation.

The Hague is the seat of the Dutch government, parliament, the Supreme Court, and the Council of State, but the city is not the capital of the Netherlands, which constitutionally is Amsterdam. Most foreign embassies in the Netherlands and 150 international organisations are located in the city, including the International Court of Justice and the International Criminal Court, which makes The Hague one of the major cities hosting the United Nations along with New York, Geneva, Vienna, Rome, and Nairobi. King Willem-Alexander of the Netherlands plans to live at Huis ten Bosch and works at Noordeinde Palace in The Hague, together with Queen Máxima. The Hague is also home to the world headquarters of Royal Dutch Shell and numerous other major Dutch companies.



Don't forget! that as one of our early users, you are eligible to receive the 1,000 point bonus as soon as you have created five (5) acceptable piglix.