*** Welcome to piglix ***


Commonwealth of Australia
A blue field with the Union Flag in the upper hoist quarter, a large white seven-pointed star in the lower hoist quarter, and constellation of five white stars in the fly – one small five-pointed star and four, larger, seven-pointed stars.
Coat of arms of Australia
Flag Coat of arms
Location of Australia
Capital Canberra
35°18.48′S 149°7.47′E / 35.30800°S 149.12450°E / -35.30800; 149.12450
Largest city Sydney
Official languages None
National language English
Government Federal parliamentary constitutional monarchy
• Monarch
Elizabeth II
Sir Peter Cosgrove
Malcolm Turnbull
Robert French
Legislature Parliament
House of Representatives
Independence from the United Kingdom
1 January 1901
9 October 1942 (with effect
from 3 September 1939)
3 March 1986
• Total
7,692,024 km2 (2,969,907 sq mi) (6th)
• 2017 estimate
24,334,500 (51st)
• 2011 census
• Density
2.8/km2 (7.3/sq mi) (236th)
GDP (PPP) 2015 estimate
• Total
$1.137 trillion (19th)
• Per capita
$47,318 (17th)
GDP (nominal) 2015 estimate
• Total
$1.223 trillion (13th)
• Per capita
$51,642 (9th)
Gini (2012) 33.6
medium · 19th
HDI (2014) Increase 0.935
very high · 2nd
Currency Australian dollar (AUD)
Time zone various(UTC+8 to +10.5)
• Summer (DST)
various (UTC+8 to +11.5)
Date format dd/mm/yyyy
Drives on the left
Calling code +61
ISO 3166 code AU
Internet TLD .au

Coordinates: 27°S 133°E / 27°S 133°E / -27; 133

Australia (Listeni/əˈstrliə/, /ɒ-/, /-ljə/), officially the Commonwealth of Australia, is a country comprising the mainland of the Australian continent, the island of Tasmania and numerous smaller islands. It is the world's sixth-largest country by total area. The neighbouring countries are Papua New Guinea, Indonesia and East Timor to the north; the Solomon Islands and Vanuatu to the north-east; and New Zealand to the south-east. Australia's capital is Canberra, and its largest urban area is Sydney.