*** Welcome to piglix ***

Telugu language

Native to India
Region Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, Yanam (Puducherry)
Ethnicity Telugu people
Native speakers
85 million (2001)
L1: 74 million
L2 & L3: 11 million
  • Southern
    • South-Central
      • Telugu
Telugu alphabet
Telugu Braille
Official status
Official language in

 India in the following states and union territories:

Language codes
ISO 639-1 te
ISO 639-2
ISO 639-3
Glottolog telu1262  (Telugu)
oldt1249  (Old Telugu)
Linguasphere 49-DBA-aa
Idioma telugu.png
Telugu is native to Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, Yanam (Puducherry)
This article contains IPA phonetic symbols. Without proper rendering support, you may see question marks, boxes, or other symbols instead of Unicode characters.

 India in the following states and union territories:

Telugu (English pronunciation: /ˈtɛlᵿɡ/;తెలుగు telugu, IPA: [t̪el̪uɡu]) is a Dravidian language native to India. It stands alongside Hindi, English, and Bengali as one of the few languages with official status in more than one Indian state; it is the primary language in the states of Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, and in the town of Yanam, Puducherry. It is also spoken by significant minorities in the Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Chhattisgarh, Karnataka, Maharashtra, Odisha, Tamil Nadu, and by the Sri Lankan Gypsy people. It is one of six languages designated a classical language of India by the Government of India. Telugu ranks third by the number of native speakers in India (74 million, 2001 census), fifteenth in the Ethnologue list of most-spoken languages worldwide and is the most widely spoken Dravidian language. It is one of the twenty-two scheduled languages of the Republic of India.