Don't miss the special BONUS offer during our Beta-test period. The next 100 new Registered Users (from a unique IP address), to post at least five (5) piglix, will receive 1,000 extra sign-up points (eventually exchangeable for crypto-currency)!

* * * * *    Free Launch Promotions    * * * * *

  • Free Ads! if you are a small business with annual revenues of less than $1M - will place your ads free of charge for up to one year! ... read more

  • $2,000 in free prizes! is giving away ten (10) Meccano Erector sets, retail at $200 each, that build a motorized Ferris Wheel (or one of 22 other models) ... see details

Northern Cape

Northern Cape
Noord-Kaap (Afrikaans)
Kapa Bokone(Tswana)
Mntla-Koloni (Xhosa)
Province of South Africa
Coat of arms of Northern Cape
Coat of arms
Motto: Sa ǁa ǃaĩsi 'uĩsi (Strive for a better life)
Map showing the location of the Northern Cape in the north-western part of South Africa
Location of the Northern Cape in South Africa
Country South Africa
Established 27 April 1994
Capital Kimberley
 • Type Parliamentary system
 • Premier Sylvia Lucas (ANC)
 • Total 372,889 km2 (143,973 sq mi)
Area rank 1st in South Africa
Highest elevation 2,156 m (7,073 ft)
Lowest elevation 0 m (0 ft)
Population (2011)
 • Total 1,145,861
 • Estimate (2015) 1,185,600
 • Rank 9th in South Africa
 • Density 3.1/km2 (8.0/sq mi)
 • Density rank 9th in South Africa
Population groups
 • Black African 50.4%
 • Coloured 40.3%
 • White 7.1%
 • Indian or Asian 0.7%
 • Afrikaans 53.8%
 • Tswana 33.1%
 • Xhosa 5.3%
 • English 3.4%
 • Sotho 1.3%
Time zone SAST (UTC+2)
ISO 3166 code ZA-NC

The Northern Cape (Afrikaans: Noord-Kaap; Tswana: Kapa Bokone) is the largest and most sparsely populated province of South Africa. It was created in 1994 when the Cape Province was split up. Its capital is Kimberley. It includes the Kalahari Gemsbok National Park, part of the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park, an international park shared with Botswana. It also includes the Augrabies Falls and the diamond mining regions in Kimberley and Alexander Bay. The Namaqualand region in the west is famous for its Namaqualand daisies. The southern towns of De Aar and Colesberg, in the Great Karoo, are major transport nodes between Johannesburg, Cape Town and Port Elizabeth. In the northeast, Kuruman is famous as a mission station and also for its "eye". The Orange River flows through the province, forming the borders with the Free State in the southeast and with Namibia to the northwest. The river is also used to irrigate the many vineyards in the arid region near Upington.



Don't forget! that as one of our early users, you are eligible to receive the 1,000 point bonus as soon as you have created five (5) acceptable piglix.