*** Notice at top for first time visitors ***

* * * * *    piglix project (code-name) Launch Promotions    * * * * *

  • Learn more! ! if you are a bone fide Higher Education establishment and would like to learn how the piglix project may be your answer to the challenges of 'lecture room' replacement strategies, use our feedback page now to tell us about your needs and have someone contact you to explain your options and possibilities.

North-West Frontier Province (1901–55)

North West Frontier
Subdivision of Pakistan
9 November 1901–14 October 1955

Flag of North West Frontier


Location of North West Frontier
Map of Pakistan with North West Frontier highlighted
Capital Peshawar
 •  Established 9 November 1901
 •  Disestablished 14 October 1955
Area 70,709 km2(27,301 sq mi)
Government of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa

Flag of North West Frontier


The North-West Frontier Province (NWFP) was a province of British India. It was established in 1901 and dissolved in 1955, after eight years as part of the independent state of Pakistan. The area became Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Province on April 19, 2010 when the Eighteenth Amendment was signed by President Asif Ali Zardari.

The province covered an area of 70,709 km², including much of the current Khyber Pakhtunkhwa but excluding the princely states of Amb, Chitral, Dir, Phulra and Swat. The capital was the city of Peshawar and the province was composed of three divisions (Peshawar, Dera Ismail Khan and Malakand). Until 1947 the province was bordered by five princely states to the north, the minor states of the Gilgit Agency to the northeast, the province of West Punjab to the east, and the province of Balochistan to the south. Afghanistan lay to the northwest, with the tribal agencies forming a buffer zone.


Social Distancing Order In Force!

Don't forget! that your welfare and that of all your friends and colleagues here is of primary concern and a distance of six feet (1.8m) minimum is required at all times.