*** Welcome to piglix ***

Korean era names

Korean era name
Hangul 연호
Hanja 年號
Revised Romanization Yeonho
McCune–Reischauer Yŏnho

Korean era names were used during the period of Silla, Goguryeo, Balhae, Taebong, Goryeo, Joseon, and the Korean Empire. Dangun-giwon, the era name originating from the foundation of Gojoseon is also widely used in Korea as an indication of long civilisation of Korea.

All these era names were used during the reign of King Gung-ye, who ruled Taebong from 901 to 918.

The Joseon Dynasty of Korea integrated itself into the Chinese tributary sphere, and consequently used the era names of the Ming and Qing Dynasties of China for most of its existence.

Chinese era names are no longer used in modern Korean historiography.

Chinese era names were widely used, especially in the Joseon dynasty. During the Japanese occupation, Imperial Japan enforced its own era system.

The North Korean government and associated organizations use a variation of the Gregorian calendar with a Juche year based on April 15, 1912 CE, the date of birth of Kim Il-sung, as year 1. There is no Juche year 0. The calendar was introduced in 1997. Months are unchanged from those in the standard Gregorian calendar. In many instances, the Juche year is given after the CE year, for example, 27 June 2007 Juche 96. But in North Korean publications, the Juche year is usually placed before the corresponding CE year, as in Juche 96 (2007).