*** Welcome to piglix ***

North Korea

Democratic People's Republic of Korea
Flag of North Korea
Emblem of North Korea
Flag Emblem
Area controlled by the Democratic People's Republic of Korea shown in green
Area controlled by the Democratic People's Republic of Korea shown in green
and largest city
39°2′N 125°45′E / 39.033°N 125.750°E / 39.033; 125.750
Official languages Korean
Official script Chosŏn'gŭl
Government Juche one-party socialist republic
Kim Jong-un
Kim Yong-nam
• Director of General Political Bureau
Hwang Pyong-so
• Premier
Pak Pong-ju
• Vice Chairman of Policy Bureau
Choe Ryong-hae
Legislature Supreme People's Assembly
Before 194 BC
18 BC
29 August 1910
15 August 1945
February 1946
• Foundation of DPRK
9 September 1948
• Chinese withdrawal
October 1958
29 June 2016
• Total
120,540 km2 (46,540 sq mi) (98th)
• Water (%)
• 2013 estimate
24,895,000 (48th)
• 2011 census
• Density
198.3/km2 (513.6/sq mi) (63rd)
GDP (PPP) 2011 estimate
• Total
$40 billion
• Per capita
GDP (nominal) 2013 estimate
• Total
$15.4 billion
• Per capita
HDI (1995) Steady 0.766
high · 75th
Currency North Korean won (₩) (KPW)
Time zone Pyongyang Time(UTC+8:30)
Date format
  • yy, yyyy년 mm월 dd일
  • yy, yyyy/mm/dd (CE–1911 / CE)
Drives on the right
Calling code +850
ISO 3166 code KP
Internet TLD .kp
  1. ^ Kim Jong-un holds four concurrent positions: Chairman of the Workers' Party, Chairman of the Central Military Commission, Chairman of the State Affairs Commission and Supreme Commander of the People's Army, serving as the "supreme leader" of the DPRK.
  2. ^ Kim Yong-nam is the "head of state for foreign affairs". The position of president (formerly head of state) was written out of the constitution in 1998. Kim Il-sung, who died in 1994, was given the appellation "Eternal President" in its preamble.
North Korea
Revised Romanization Chosŏn Minjujuŭi Inmin Konghwaguk

Coordinates: 40°00′N 127°00′E / 40.000°N 127.000°E / 40.000; 127.000

North Korea (About this sound listen), officially the Democratic People's Republic of Korea (DPRK About this sound listen), is a country in East Asia, in the northern part of the Korean Peninsula. Pyongyang is both the nation's capital as well as its largest city. To the north and northwest the country is bordered by China and by Russia along the Amnok (known as the Yalu in China) and Tumen rivers. The country is bordered to the south by South Korea (officially the Republic of Korea), with the heavily fortified Korean Demilitarized Zone separating the two.