Don't miss the special BONUS offer during our Beta-test period. The next 100 new Registered Users (from a unique IP address), to post at least five (5) piglix, will receive 1,000 extra sign-up points (eventually exchangeable for crypto-currency)!

* * * * *    Free Launch Promotions    * * * * *

  • Free Ads! if you are a small business with annual revenues of less than $1M - will place your ads free of charge for up to one year! ... read more

  • $2,000 in free prizes! is giving away ten (10) Meccano Erector sets, retail at $200 each, that build a motorized Ferris Wheel (or one of 22 other models) ... see details

International Union of Architects

International Union of Architects
Abbreviation UIA
Formation 1948
Region served
Official language
English, French
Website UIA Official website

The International Union of Architects (Union internationale des Architectes, or UIA) is an international non-governmental organization that represents over a million architects in 124 countries. The UIA was founded in Lausanne, Switzerland, in 1948. The General Secretariat is located in Paris. It is recognized by most United Nations agencies as the only association in its field, including UNESCO, UNCHS, ESOSOC, UNIDO, and the World Health Organization, as well as the WTO. The current (2014 - 2017) president is Esa Mohamed from Malaysia.

The UIA helds a triennal World Congress of Architecture each organised at a time by a member section in its respective country. In connection with the congress the general assembly of the organisation is held in which the honorary office bearers, among them the Council members, are elected for a three-year term. The next congress will be held in Seoul 2017 on the topic: "Soul of City". Former congresses were:

Since 1961 the UIA awards four prizes triennially:

Since 1984 the organisation also awards the UIA Gold Medal to honour an architect (or group of architects) having distinguished themselves through their work and professional practice by the quality of services rendered to man and society. Past recipients of the award were:

The organization also manages international competitions for some of the most important spaces of our age, as well as attempts to improve human habitats through architecture and technology. The UIA managed international competitions resulting in the construction of:

Nr. Year Location Theme
1st 1948 Switzerland Lausanne Architecture Faced with its New Tasks
2nd 1951 Morocco Rabat How Architecture is Dealing with its New Tasks
3rd 1953 Portugal Lisbon Architecture at the Crossroads
4th 1955 Netherlands The Hague Architecture and the Evolutions of Building
5th 1958 Soviet Union Moscow Construction and Reconstruction
6th 1961 United Kingdom London New Techniques and New Materials
7th 1963 Cuba Havana Architecture in Underdeveloped Countries
8th 1965 France Paris The Training of Architects
9th 1967 Czechoslovakia Prague Architecture and the Human Milieu
10th 1969 Argentina Buenos Aires Architecture as a Social Factor
11th 1972 Bulgaria Varna Architecture and Leisure
12th 1975 Spain Madrid Creativity and Technology
13th 1978 Mexico Mexico City Architecture and National Development
14th 1981 Poland Warsaw Architecture, Man, Environment
15th 1985 Egypt Cairo Present and Future Missions of the Architect
16th 1987 United Kingdom Brighton Shelter and Cities - Building Tomorrow's World
17th 1990 Canada Montreal Cultures and Technologies
18th 1993 United States Chicago Architecture at the Crossroads - Designing for a Sustainable Future
19th 1996 Spain Barcelona Present and Futures. Architecture in Cities
20th 1999 China Beijing Architecture of the 21st Century
21st 2002 Germany Berlin Resource Architecture
22nd 2005 Turkey Istanbul Grand Bazaar of Architectures
23rd 2008 Italy Turin Transmitting Architecture
24th 2011 Japan Tokyo DESIGN 2050 Beyond disasters, through Solidarity, towards Sustainability
25th 2014 South Africa Durban architecture otherwhere
Year Architect Country
1984 Hassan Fathy Egypt
1987 Reima Pietila Finland
1990 Charles Correa India
1993 Fumihiko Maki Japan
1996 Rafael Moneo Spain
1999 Ricardo Legorreta Vilchis Mexico
2002 Renzo Piano Italy
2005 Tadao Ando Japan
2008 Teodoro Gonzalez de Leon Mexico
2011 Álvaro Siza Vieira Portugal
2014 Ieoh Ming Pei USA



Don't forget! that as one of our early users, you are eligible to receive the 1,000 point bonus as soon as you have created five (5) acceptable piglix.