*** Welcome to piglix ***


Aragón (Spanish)
Aragón (Aragonese)
Aragó (Catalan)
Autonomous community
Flag of Aragon
Coat-of-arms of Aragon
Coat of arms
Anthem: Himno de Aragón  (Spanish)
"Anthem of Aragon"
Map of Aragon
Location of Aragon within Spain
Coordinates: 41°00′N 1°00′W / 41.000°N 1.000°W / 41.000; -1.000Coordinates: 41°00′N 1°00′W / 41.000°N 1.000°W / 41.000; -1.000
Country Spain
Capital Zaragoza
 • President Javier Lambán (PSOE)
 • Legislature Cortes of Aragon
Area(9.4% of Spain; Ranked 4th)
 • Total 47,719 km2 (18,424 sq mi)
Population (2015)
 • Total 1,317,847
 • Density 28/km2 (72/sq mi)
 • Pop. rank 11th
 • Percent 2.82% of Spain
Demonym(s) Aragonese
ISO 3166-2 AR
Official languages Spanish
Recognised languages Aragonese, Catalan
Statute of Autonomy August 16, 1982
April 18, 2007 (current version)
Aragonese Corts 67 deputies
Congress seats 13 (of 350)
Senate seats 14 (of 264)
Website Gobierno de Aragón

Aragon (/ˈærəɡɒn/ or /ˈærəɡən/, Spanish and Aragonese: Aragón [aɾaˈɣon], Catalan: Aragó [əɾəˈɣo] or [aɾaˈɣo]) is an autonomous community in Spain, coextensive with the medieval Kingdom of Aragon. Located in northeastern Spain, the Aragonese autonomous community comprises three provinces (from north to south): Huesca, Zaragoza, and Teruel. Its capital is Zaragoza (also called Saragossa in English). The current Statute of Autonomy declares Aragon a nationality of Spain.