*** Notice at top for first time visitors ***

* * * * *    piglix project (code-name) Launch Promotions    * * * * *

  • Learn more! ! if you are a bone fide Higher Education establishment and would like to learn how the piglix project may be your answer to the challenges of 'lecture room' replacement strategies, use our feedback page now to tell us about your needs and have someone contact you to explain your options and possibilities.

African Union

African Union
Flag of the African Union
Emblem of the African Union
Flag Emblem
"A United and Strong Africa"
An orthographic projection of the world, highlighting the African Union and its member states (green).
Dark green: member states
Light green: membership applicant
Political centres
Largest city Nigeria Lagos
Official languages
Demonym African
Type Continental union
Membership 54 member states
Chad Idriss Déby
South Africa Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma
Cameroon Roger Nkodo Dang
Legislature Pan-African Parliament
25 May 1963; 53 years ago (1963-05-25)
3 June 1991
9 September 1999
• African Union founded
9 July 2002
• Total
29,865,860 km2 (11,531,270 sq mi)
• 2013 estimate
• Density
40.9/km2 (105.9/sq mi)
GDP (PPP) 2014 estimate
• Total
US$3.757 trillion
• Per capita
GDP (nominal) 2014 estimate
• Total
$2.390 trillion
• Per capita
Currency 42 currencies
Time zone (UTC-1 to +4)
Calling code 57 codes
Internet TLD .africa c

The African Union (AU) is a continental union consisting of 54 countries in Africa. It was established on 26 May 2001 in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia and launched on 9 July 2002 in South Africa, with the aim of replacing the Organisation of African Unity (OAU). The most important decisions of the AU are made by the Assembly of the African Union, a semi-annual meeting of the heads of state and government of its member states. The AU's secretariat, the African Union Commission, is based in Addis Ababa.

The objectives of the AU are:

The African Union is made up of both political and administrative bodies. The highest decision-making organ is the Assembly of the African Union, made up of all the heads of state or government of member states of the AU. The Assembly is chaired by Idriss Déby, President of Chad. The AU also has a representative body, the Pan African Parliament, which consists of 265 members elected by the national legislatures of the AU member states. Its president is Bethel Nnaemeka Amadi.

Other political institutions of the AU include

The AU Commission, the secretariat to the political structures, is chaired by Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma of South Africa. On 15 July 2012, Ms. Dlamini-Zuma won a tightly contested vote to become the first female head of the African Union Commission, replacing Jean Ping of Gabon.

The main administrative capital of the African Union is in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, where the African Union Commission is headquartered. A new headquarters complex, the AU Conference Center and Office Complex (AUCC), was inaugurated on 28 January 2012, during the 18th AU summit. The complex was built by China State Construction Engineering Corporation as a gift from the Chinese government, and accommodates, among other facilities, a 2,500-seat plenary hall and a 20-story office tower. The tower is 99.9 meters high to signify the date 9 September 1999, when the Organization of African Unity voted to become the African Union.


Social Distancing Order In Force!

Don't forget! that your welfare and that of all your friends and colleagues here is of primary concern and a distance of six feet (1.8m) minimum is required at all times.