*** Welcome to piglix ***

Vice President of India

Vice-President of India
भारत के उपराष्ट्रपतिC
Emblem of India.svg
Vice-President Mohammad Hamid Ansari
Mohammad Hamid Ansari

since 11 August 2007
Residence Vice President House
Appointer The Electoral College of India
Term length Five years, renewable
Inaugural holder Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan
May 13, 1952 to May 12, 1962
Salary 125,000 (US$1,900) per month (February 2015)
Website vicepresidentofindia.nic.in

The Vice-President of India is the second-highest constitutional office in India, after the President. Article 63 of Indian Constitution states that "there shall be a Vice-President of India." The Vice-President acts as President in the absence of the President due to death, resignation, impeachment, or other situations.

The Vice-President of India is also ex officio Chairperson of the Rajya Sabha. When a bill is introduced in Rajya Sabha, vice-president decides whether it is a financial bill or not. If he is of the opinion, a bill introduced in the Rajya Sabha is a money bill, he would refer the case to the Speaker of the Lok Sabha for deciding it.

Article 66 of the Indian Constitution states the manner of election of the Vice-President. The Vice-President is elected indirectly by members of an electoral college consisting of the members of both Houses of Parliament in accordance with the system of Proportional Representation by means of the Single transferable vote and the voting is by secret ballot conducted by election commission.

The current Vice-President is Mohammad Hamid Ansari, since 11 August 2007, and re-elected on 7 August 2012.

As in the case of the President, in order to be qualified to be elected as Vice-President, a person must:

While in order to be a President, a person must be qualified for election as a member of the Lok Sabha (House of Peoples), the Vice-President must be qualified for election as a member of the Rajya Sabha (Council of States). This difference is because the Vice-President is to act as the ex officio Chairman of the Rajya Sabha.

The Vice-President is elected directly, by an electoral college consisting of members of both houses of the Parliament. The election of the Vice-President is slightly different from the election of the President as the members of state legislatures are not part of the electoral college for the vice-presidential election.