*** Welcome to piglix ***

Speaker of the Lok Sabha

Speaker of the Lok Sabha
लोक सभा अध्यक्ष
Lok Sabha Secretariat officers and staff donate a day’s salary to the PMNRF (cropped).jpg
Sumitra Mahajan
Style The Honourable
Appointer Members of the Lok Sabha
Term length During the life of the Lok Sabha (five years maximum)
Inaugural holder Ganesh Vasudev Mavalankar
Formation 15 May 1952
Deputy M. Thambidurai
Website Speaker's Official Website

The Speaker of the Lok Sabha is the presiding officer of the Lok Sabha, the lower house of the Parliament of India. His/her role is similar to that of speakers elsewhere in other countries that use the Westminster system of government. The speaker is elected in the very first meeting of the Lok Sabha following general elections. Serving for a term of five years, he/she is chosen from amongst the members of the Lok Sabha, and is by convention a member of the ruling party or alliance.

The current speaker is Sumitra Mahajan of the Bharatiya Janata Party, who is presiding over the 16th Lok Sabha. She is the second woman to hold the office, after her immediate predecessor Meira Kumar.

The Speaker of the Lok Sabha conducts the business in house. He/She decides whether a bill is a money bill or not. He/She maintains discipline and decorum in the house and can punish a member for their unruly behaviour by suspending them. He/She permits the moving of various kinds of motions and resolutions like the motion of no confidence, motion of adjournment, motion of censure and calling attention notice as per the rules. The Speaker decides on the agenda to be taken up for discussion during the meeting. The date of election of speaker is fixed by the President. Further, all comments and speeches made by members of the House are addressed to the speaker. The speaker also presides over the joint sitting of both Houses of Parliament. The counterpart of the Speaker in the Rajya Sabha is the Chairman, who is the Vice President of India. In the warrant of precedence, the speaker of Lok Sabha comes next only to The Deputy Prime Minister of India. Speaker has the sixth rank in the political executive of India.

Speaker can be removed by the Lok Sabha by a resolution passed by a majority of all the members of the House per .