*** Welcome to piglix ***

Roman Catholic

Emblem of the Holy See
Catholic Church
Latin: Ecclesia catholica
Saint Peter's Basilica
Classification Catholic
Polity Episcopal
Head Pope Francis
Administration Holy See via the Roman Curia
sui iuris
Latin Church
Eastern Catholic churches: 23
Dioceses Archdioceses: 640
Regular dioceses: 2,851
Region Worldwide
Headquarters Vatican City
Founder Jesus Christ, according to
Catholic tradition
Origin 1st century
Jerusalem,Judea, Roman Empire
Members 1.27 billion
Clergy Bishops: 5,237
Priests: 415,792
Deacons: 44,566
Website Holy See

The Catholic Church, also known as the Roman Catholic Church, is the largest Christian church, with more than 1.27 billion members worldwide. As one of the oldest religious institutions in the world, it has played a prominent role in the history of Western civilisation.Headed by the Bishop of Rome, known as the pope, its doctrines are summarised in the Nicene Creed. The Catholic Church is notable within Western Christianity for its sacred tradition and seven sacraments.

The Catholic Church teaches that it is the one true church founded by Jesus Christ, that its bishops are the successors of Christ's apostles, and that the pope is the successor to Saint Peter. The Catholic Church maintains that the doctrine on faith and morals that it declares as definitive is infallible. The Latin Church, the Eastern Catholic Churches, as well as institutes such as mendicant orders and enclosed monastic orders, reflect a variety of theological and spiritual emphases in the Church.