Don't miss the special BONUS offer during our Beta-test period. The next 100 new Registered Users (from a unique IP address), to post at least five (5) piglix, will receive 1,000 extra sign-up points (eventually exchangeable for crypto-currency)!

* * * * *    Free Launch Promotions    * * * * *

  • Free Ads! if you are a small business with annual revenues of less than $1M - will place your ads free of charge for up to one year! ... read more

  • $2,000 in free prizes! is giving away ten (10) Meccano Erector sets, retail at $200 each, that build a motorized Ferris Wheel (or one of 22 other models) ... see details

International VELUX Award for Students of Architecture

The International VELUX Award challenges students of architecture to explore the theme of sunlight and daylight. The award is biennial and was first presented in 2004.

The award celebrates excellence in completed works on any scale from a small scale component to large urban contexts or abstract concepts and experimentation. The award is presented by VELUX in close cooperation with the International Union of Architects (UIA) and the European Association for Architectural Education (EAAE).

“Light of Tomorrow” is the theme of the International VELUX Award. The award wants to challenge the future of daylight in the built environment. The award contains no specific categories and is in no way restricted to the use of VELUX products.

The International VELUX Award 2012 opened for registration on 1 October 2011. Students register to participate in the award via the award website.

Any registered student of architecture – individual or team – from all over the world may participate in the award. The award wants to acknowledge not only the students but their teachers as well. Therefore, all students must be backed and granted submission by a teacher from a school of architecture.

The jury of the International VELUX Award comprises internationally recognized architects and other building professionals.

The jury of the 2012 Award comprised five jury members with different cultural backgrounds, nationalities and approaches to architecture. The jury met in Copenhagen in June 2012 to evaluate the year 2012 submitted projects and nominate the winners.

Alvaro Siza, Portugal, considered his country’s greatest living architect. Over the last five decades Álvaro Siza has assembled a body of work that ranks him among the greatest architects of his generation.

Brigitte Shim, Canada, has been a professor, since 1988, at the John H. Daniels Faculty of Architecture, Landscape, and Design at the University of Toronto. Brigitte Shim is also a principal in Shim-Sutcliffe Architects, Toronto, formed in 1994.

Francis Kéré, Burkina Faso/Germany, self-employed planner and lecturer at the Technische Universität Berlin. The focus of Kéré’s work is climatic adaptation, low building costs and self-building.

Peter Stutchbury, Australia, is an Australian architect. He is principal of the firm Peter Stutchbury Architecture.

  • Magda Mostafa, Associate Professor, representing UIA on the jury and elected jury chairman at the jury meeting, Cairo, Egypt
  • Momoyo Kaijima, founding partner in Atelier Bow-Wow, Tokyo, Japan
  • Will Bruder, founding partner in Will Bruder+Partners, Arizona, USA
  • Nathalie de Vries, founding partner in MVRDV, Rotterdam, The Netherlands
  • Kim Herforth Nielsen, founding partner in 3XN, Copenhagen, Denmark
  • Stefano Musso, Professor, EAAE representative, Genoa, Italy
  • Jesper Salskov Jensen, VELUX representative on the jury, Denmark


Don't forget! that as one of our early users, you are eligible to receive the 1,000 point bonus as soon as you have created five (5) acceptable piglix.