*** Notice at top for first time visitors ***

* * * * *    piglix project (code-name) Launch Promotions    * * * * *

  • Learn more! ! if you are a bone fide Higher Education establishment and would like to learn how the piglix project may be your answer to the challenges of 'lecture room' replacement strategies, use our feedback page now to tell us about your needs and have someone contact you to explain your options and possibilities.

University of Pretoria

University of Pretoria
Yunibesithi ya Pretoria
University of Pretoria Ceremonial Shield.JPG
Coat of Arms of the University of Pretoria
Former names
Transvaal University College (1908–1930)
Motto Ad Destinatum Persequor (Latin)
Motto in English
"With zeal and perseverance, strive towards the goal"
Type Public university
Established 4 March 1908
Endowment R2 470 million (As of 31 December 2010)
Chancellor Wiseman Nkuhlu
Vice-Chancellor Cheryl de la Rey
Chairperson of Council Futhi Mtoba
Administrative staff
4 099 (fulltime appointments)
Students 49,152 Contact
10,362 Distance
59,514 Total
Undergraduates 28,450
Postgraduates 10,484
Location Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Campus 7 Suburban campuses and facilities 1120ha (2767acre)

Blue, Red & Gold               

Nickname Tuks or Tukkies
Mascot Oom Gert
Affiliations AAU
Website www.up.ac.za
Logo University of Pretoria.PNG
University of Pretoria.png
Logo of University of Pretoria

Blue, Red & Gold               

The University of Pretoria is a multi-campus public research university in Pretoria, the administrative and de facto capital of South Africa. The university was established in 1908 as the Pretoria campus of the Johannesburg-based Transvaal University College and is the fourth South African institution in continuous operation to be awarded university status. The university has grown from the original 32 students in a single late Victorian house to approximately 39,000 in 2010. The University was built on 7 suburban campuses on 1,120 hectares (2,800 acres).

The University is organised into nine faculties and a business school. Established in 1920, the University of Pretoria Faculty of Veterinary Science is the second oldest veterinary school in Africa and the only veterinary school in South Africa. In 1949 the university launched the first MBA programme outside of North America and the university's Gordon Institute of Business Science (GIBS) has consistently been ranked the top business school in Africa for executive education, as well as being placed in the top 50 in the world. In 2012 the Financial Times ranked the GIBS Executive MBA 1st in Africa and 60th in the world.

Since 1997, the university has produced more research outputs every year than any other institution of higher learning in South Africa, as measured by the Department of Education's accreditation benchmark. In 2008 the university awarded 15.8% of all masters and doctorate degrees in South Africa, the highest percentage in the country.

The university is commonly referred to as UP, Tuks, or Tukkies and in post-nominals the university is typically abbreviated as Pret or UP, although Pretoria is also used in official publications.

The proposal for a university for the capital, first mooted in the Volksraad in 1889, was interrupted by the outbreak of the Anglo Boer War in 1899. In 1896 the South African School of Mines was founded in Kimberley. Eight years later, in 1904, the school was moved to Johannesburg and was renamed the Transvaal Technical Institute. The school's name changed yet again in 1906 to Transvaal University College. In 1902 after the signing of the Peace of Vereeniging, the Normal College for teacher training was established in Groenkloof, Pretoria. On 4 March 1908 when the Transvaal University College (TUC) transferred its arts and science courses to its newly established Pretoria Campus the precursor to the university was established, initially offering courses in languages, sciences, and law.


Social Distancing Order In Force!

Don't forget! that your welfare and that of all your friends and colleagues here is of primary concern and a distance of six feet (1.8m) minimum is required at all times.