*** Welcome to piglix ***

The Times

The Times
The Times header.png
Times 1788.12.04.jpg
Front page of The Times from 4 December 1788
Type Daily newspaper
Format Compact
Owner(s) News UK
Editor John Witherow
Founded 1 January 1785; 232 years ago (1785-01-01) (as The Daily Universal Register)
Political alignment Centre-right
Headquarters London Bridge, London
Country United Kingdom
Circulation 446,164 (as of December 2016)
Sister newspapers The Sunday Times
ISSN 0140-0460
Website www.thetimes.co.uk

The Times is a British daily (Monday to Saturday) national newspaper based in London, England. It began in 1785 under the title The Daily Universal Register, adopting its current name on 1 January 1788. The Times and its sister paper The Sunday Times (founded in 1821) are published by Times Newspapers, since 1981 a subsidiary of News UK, itself wholly owned by News Corp. The Times and The Sunday Times do not share editorial staff, were founded independently and have only had common ownership since 1967.

In 1959 the historian of journalism Allan Nevins analysed the importance of The Times in shaping the views of events of London's elite:

For much more than a century The Times has been an integral and important part of the political structure of Great Britain. Its news and its editorial comment have in general been carefully coordinated, and have at most times been handled with an earnest sense of responsibility. While the paper has admitted some trivia to its columns, its whole emphasis has been on important public affairs treated with an eye to the best interests of Britain. To guide this treatment, the editors have for long periods been in close touch with 10 Downing Street.

The Times is the first newspaper to have borne that name, lending it to numerous other papers around the world, including The Times of India (founded in 1838), The Straits Times (Singapore) (1845), The New York Times (1851), The Irish Times (1859), Le Temps (France) (1861-1942), the Cape Times (South Africa) (1872), the Los Angeles Times (1881), The Seattle Times (1891), The Manila Times (1898), The Daily Times (Malawi) (1900), El Tiempo (Colombia) (1911), The Canberra Times (1926), Times of Malta (1935), and The Washington Times (1982). In these countries, the newspaper is often referred to as The London Times or The Times of London, although the newspaper is of national scope and distribution.