*** Welcome to piglix ***

Headquarters of the United Nations

Headquarters of the United Nations
United Nations Headquarters in New York City, view from Roosevelt Island.jpg
View from Roosevelt Island
Headquarters of the United Nations is located in New York City
Headquarters of the United Nations
Location within New York City
Alternative names Headquarters of the United Nations (English)
مقر الأمم المتحدة (Arabic)
联合国总部大楼 (Chinese)
Siège des Nations unies (French)
Центральные Учреждения Организации Объединенных Наций (Russian)
Sede de las Naciones Unidas (Spanish)
General information
Architectural style International Style
Location New York City
(International territory)
Address 760 United Nations Plaza, Manhattan, New York City
Coordinates 40°44′58″N 73°58′5″W / 40.74944°N 73.96806°W / 40.74944; -73.96806Coordinates: 40°44′58″N 73°58′5″W / 40.74944°N 73.96806°W / 40.74944; -73.96806
Construction started 1948
Completed October 9, 1952 (1952-10-09)
Cost $65,000,000
(in adjusted inflation $586,221,805)
Owner United Nations
Height 155 meters (509 ft)
Technical details
Floor count 39
Design and construction
Architect Oscar Niemeyer
Le Corbusier
Harrison & Abramovitz
Main contractor Fuller, Turner, Slattery, and Walsh

The headquarters of the United Nations is a complex in New York City designed by Brazilian architect Oscar Niemeyer. The complex has served as the official headquarters of the United Nations since its completion in 1952. It is located in the Turtle Bay neighborhood of Manhattan, on spacious grounds overlooking the East River. Its borders are First Avenue on the west, East 42nd Street to the south, East 48th Street on the north and the East River to the east. The term "Turtle Bay" is occasionally used as a metonym for the UN headquarters or for the United Nations as a whole.

The United Nations has three additional, subsidiary, regional headquarters, or headquarters districts. These were opened in Geneva (Switzerland) in 1946, Vienna (Austria) in 1980, and Nairobi (Kenya) in 1996. These adjunct offices help represent UN interests, facilitate diplomatic activities, and enjoy certain extraterritorial privileges, but only the main headquarters in New York City contains the seats of the principal organs of the UN, including the General Assembly and Security Council.

All fifteen of the United Nations' specialized agencies are located outside New York City at these other headquarters or in other cities - the Food and Agriculture Organization and International Fund for Agricultural Development in Rome, the International Civil Aviation Organization in Montreal, the International Labour Organization, International Telecommunication Union, World Health Organization, World Intellectual Property Organization, World Trade Organization and World Meteorological Organization in Geneva, the International Maritime Organization in London, the International Monetary Fund and World Bank Group in Washington, DC, the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization in Paris, the United Nations Industrial Development Organization in Vienna, and the World Tourism Organization in Madrid.