• Ulysses Bloodstone

    Ulysses Bloodstone

    • Ulysses Bloodstone
      Bloodstone Ulysses.jpg
      Ulysses Bloodstone promotional art.
      Publication information
      Publisher Marvel Comics
      First appearance Marvel Presents #1 (Oct. 1975)
      Created by Len Wein
      Marv Wolfman
      John Warner
      In-story information
      Species Human (empowered)
      Team affiliations Monster Hunters
      "Avengers" (1959)
      Notable aliases Ulysses Bloodstone, Captain Achab, Redstone Kid
      Abilities Immortality
      Superhuman strength, speed, endurance, agility, durability, and reflexes
      Heightened senses
      Invisible third eye granted psychic powers

      Ulysses Bloodstone is a fictional character appearing in American comic books published by Marvel Comics. He is an immortal monster-hunter.

      Ulysses Bloodstone first appeared in Marvel Presents #1 and was created by Len Wein, Marv Wolfman, and John Warner.

      John Warner has explained the development of Ulysses Bloodstone: "Len Wein and Marv Wolfman came up with the spark that would become Bloodstone—the premise of a man who fights monsters—and together he [sic] and I began to develop a series idea to take up ten pages of Where Monsters Dwell." Mike Vosburg was the artist assigned to the first installment, and then Pat Boyette was to do the rest of the series. Warner developed ideas for the ongoing story describing the planned ideas as "grand and epic and sweeping in scope" and "very cosmic and complex."

      Where Monsters Dwell was cancelled at the same time as The Living Mummy, another title on which Warner was working. However, he was informed that he would get the chance to run part of the story in the first two issues of a new title, Marvel Presents. The first two parts were finished, and they would run in issue one; Warner had to draw everything to a satisfactory close in the second issue. He says, "In the first two episodes I had laid the groundwork for this grand sweeping epic ... and all of a sudden I had to tie it off in eighteen pages." This left a lot of the story untold, and he could only introduce two of the characters he wanted to bring in, Brad Carter and P.D.Q. Warner. Due to the delays Boyette was unavailable for the second issue, whose artwork Sonny Trinidad drew instead.

      Most of the rest of the planned stories would appear in the back-up story in The Rampaging Hulk (1977) which led up to Bloodstone's death. This was told in #8, after the feature was replaced in #7 by an unrelated feature, and now written by Steve Gerber rather than Warner. Other parts of his history would be told through flashbacks in titles like Captain America: Sentinel of Liberty (1999), and more of the background to his death was filled-in by The Bloodstone Hunt storyline in the regular Captain America comic (1989). His adventures with the Monster Hunters were told in Marvel Universe (1998) and Marvel: The Lost Generation (2000).

      • Marvel Milestones Special: Bloodstone, X-51 & Captain Marvel II (collects Marvel Presents #1 and Bloodstone #1, Marvel Comics, 2006)
      • Captain America: The Bloodstone Hunt (collects Captain America volume 1 #357-362, 1989), tpb July 1993,
  • What Else?

    • Ulysses Bloodstone