Don't miss the special BONUS offer during our Beta-test period. The next 100 new Registered Users (from a unique IP address), to post at least five (5) piglix, will receive 1,000 extra sign-up points (eventually exchangeable for crypto-currency)!

* * * * *    Free Launch Promotions    * * * * *

  • Free Ads! if you are a small business with annual revenues of less than $1M - will place your ads free of charge for up to one year! ... read more

  • $2,000 in free prizes! is giving away ten (10) Meccano Erector sets, retail at $200 each, that build a motorized Ferris Wheel (or one of 22 other models) ... see details

Slipknot (band)

Several members of Slipknot performing onstage
Slipknot onstage at Soundwave Festival 2012.
Background information
Origin Des Moines, Iowa, U.S.
Years active 1995 (1995)–present
Labels Roadrunner
Associated acts
Past members

Slipknot is an American heavy metal band from Des Moines, Iowa. The band was founded in September 1995 by percussionist Shawn Crahan and bassist Paul Gray. After several lineup changes in its early years, the band settled on nine members for more than a decade: Corey Taylor, Mick Thomson, Jim Root, Paul Gray, Craig Jones, Sid Wilson, Shawn Crahan, Chris Fehn and Joey Jordison. Gray died on May 24, 2010, and was replaced from 2011–2014 by former guitarist Donnie Steele. Jordison left the band on December 12, 2013. Steele left during the recording sessions for .5: The Gray Chapter. The band is now touring with replacement musicians Alessandro Venturella on bass and Jay Weinberg on drums. After the departure of Jordison, as of December 2015 the only founding member in the current lineup is percussionist Crahan; the other remaining members of Slipknot have been members since the release of the band's 1999 eponymous debut album.

Slipknot is well known for its attention-grabbing image, aggressive style of music, and energetic and chaotic live shows. The band rapidly rose to success following the release of their eponymous debut album in 1999. The 2001 follow-up album, Iowa, although darker in tone, made the band more popular. After a brief hiatus, Slipknot returned in 2004 with Vol. 3: (The Subliminal Verses), before going on another hiatus and returning in 2008 with its fourth album, All Hope Is Gone, which debuted at number one on the Billboard 200 chart. After another long hiatus, Slipknot released its fifth studio album, .5: The Gray Chapter, in 2014. The band has released a live album titled 9.0: Live, a compilation album titled Antennas to Hell, and four live DVDs. In 2015, Slipknot headlined the Download Festival in the UK for the third time.

Current members
Former members
Studio albums
  • Anders Colsefni – lead vocals, custom percussion (1995–1997); samples, programming (1996); custom percussion, backing vocals (1997)
  • (#4) Josh Brainard – guitar, backing vocals (1995–1999)
  • (#3) Greg Welts – custom percussion, backing vocals (1997–1998)
  • (#3) Brandon Darner – custom percussion, backing vocals (1998)
  • (#2) Paul Gray – bass, backing vocals (1995–2010, died 2010)
  • (#1) Joey Jordison – drums (1995–2013)
  • Donnie Steele – guitar (1995–1996); bass (2011–2014)
  • Slipknot: Double Platinum (February 2001)
  • Iowa: Platinum (October 2002)
  • Vol. 3: (The Subliminal Verses): Platinum (February 2005)
  • All Hope Is Gone: Platinum (August 2010)
  • .5: The Gray Chapter: Gold (August 2016)
  • 9.0: Live: Gold (December 2005)
  • Welcome to Our Neighborhood: Platinum (February 2000)
  • Disasterpieces: Quadruple Platinum (November 2005)
  • Voliminal: Inside the Nine: Platinum (February 2007)
  • (sic)nesses: Platinum (November 2010)
  • Arnopp, Jason (2001). Slipknot: Inside the Sickness, Behind the Masks. UK: Ebury. ISBN . 
  • Crampton, Mark (2001). Barcode Killers: The Slipknot Story in Words and Pictures. UK: Chrome Dreams. ISBN . 
  • McIver, Joel (2003). Slipknot: Unmasked (Again). UK: Omnibus. ISBN . 


Don't forget! that as one of our early users, you are eligible to receive the 1,000 point bonus as soon as you have created five (5) acceptable piglix.